21 thoughts on “                 Loom

  1. So glad you participated in the prompt! It’s been interesting to see the different reactions to their birthstone word. When I read poetry, I respond to it personally — and sometimes I connect with it, past the writer’s intentions…if that makes sense. Many times folks do that with my posts as well. I guess I figure that’s a good thing since the reader is engaged. So when I look at your title here, and see that you’ve written about the opal….I think of it as you looming above, looking down on this birth stone. It refracts the life…(hmmmm sometimes experiences we’ve had refract the light, who we are and who we’ve been). To me the opal has different layers to it and that’s what I’m feeling here. The pale background sits somewhere within the opal and we see it from there. Don’t know if I’m making sense here but somehow I feel the opal within your words. I also find it interesting that you’ve capitalized “Opal” as if to personify it…make it something more than a mere stone. Well, there you have it. You certainly have me engaged in your words, and that’s a good thing! 🙂
    Happy Wednesday to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m reading this as if it’s about a person with an alter ego or split personality, someone separate from everyone else (unreachable, but nice to look at from a distance). My favorite part is the word “tripped.” Like a tripped wire. Dangerous and destructive. The pale background makes me think this person is beyond the pale, body in a coffin, dead. Maybe a metaphor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment